You Know Nothing, Jon Snow

Disclaimer: this is not a Game of Thrones post. Sorry, I just had to use that phrase from Ygritte.

As I write this, I am sitting on my bed with my laptop on a bed table and I just had to ask myself this, why do we put ourselves into so much misery in the first place when we could have avoided it initially? Sometimes a few minutes of happiness and self satisfaction isn’t worth it when you know what’s coming anyway. But do we think about consequences before hand? No. Because we just do it anyway and pray to God it doesn’t end up with bad results. Cross-the-bridge-when-you-get-there kind of mentality. And then kick ourselves mentally for not listening to the good conscience later on. And yes, wish we could turn back time. (Unfortunately, we’re just not there yet.)

I just can’t believe I’ve put myself again in this position for the third time. And here I thought I was a smart girl. I have no discipline. I need to reign in my impulses. It’s so hard! It’s so hard because I know next time I might give in again with what I think I want versus what I need to do. I want to cry so hard for myself because I can be really foolish. History will keep repeating itself until you learn the lesson.

Harriette, just stop.

Leave a Reply

