Hospital Orientation

Hello! How is everyone? I’ve been procrastinating stuff I should be writing about so now it’s days late. Anyhow, to review, last Monday I attended the hospital orientation at Quezon City General Hospital. I wasn’t late, thank the heavens but when I got there, there were already so many nurse trainees like myself waiting outside the hospital. The guards won’t let us in yet. I feel like a loner, since it’s the first time I’m going into training without a friend. A part of me is actually excited to be there, to meet new people and make friends while the other half is anxious to be away from familiarity. But I embraced the unknown, so I attended the orientation.

There were 240 trainees in all.  I was really surprised by the number! I thought initially there would only be about 50 or 60 trainees in all and frankly I was disappointed. It’s not that I’m saying I’m incapable or incompetent but it’s kind of hard to swim through competition of that many, but I guess we’ll have to see.

The orientation covered mostly rules and regulations, duty hours, uniforms, hospital staff and a tour of the hospital itself. It’s my first time to be there, and they just opened a new and better building to replace the haunted looking, dilapidated one they used for a long time. It’s scary! I’ll take a photo next time.

I thought it would only last for a few hours but lo and behold! It lasted the whole day. I was so eager to get going already, considering it was mostly small talk and getting to know the supervisors, etc. Stuff I could have figured out myself. Although, I can say the the staff were really great and friendly. (And maybe a little too perky?) I hope they are still as amiable when training starts though.

Anyhow, I can’t help but feel a rush of excitement because finally, after a long time, I’m going to actually do what I studied in college for. I felt like a total loner though, the whole orientation and I’m seriously praying that the people I’m going to be with for six months I can get along with without any conflict or problems. I’m here to have fun and meet new people after all!

I’ll start on Monday in Surgery ward, 6AM. Oh my, I don’t know how am I going to wake up so early in the morning. I have to be there about 15 to 30 minutes early and the travel from home is about an hour tops. Waking up so early will be torture. 😦

Leave a Reply

